My Morning Jacket

Over the years, I have at times discussed my sadness over the apparent creative decline of one of my favorite Alt-Country bands, My Morning Jacket.  The Tennessee Fire and At Dawn are two oft-overlooked classics in the annals of Americana, Roots Rock or Alt-Country (all somewhat interchangeable terms).  But when I hear this song, I remember that this is truly one of the really special bands and voices of contemporary American Music:  My Morning Jacket’s “I Will Be There When You Die”

Also, here is a gorgeous cover by Jim James (MMJ’s lead singer) and Calexico of the Dylan+The Band song “Going to Acapulco” from The Basement Tapes.  The video/footage is from the fantastic Todd Haynes film I’m Not There about the misconceptions, mythology, and mayhem that is/was the 1960s for one Robert Zimmerman from Hibbing, Minnesota.

Leave a Reply

